What I am reflective upon this morning is our time. Our accumulation of moments and things throughout our days that turn into weeks that turn into months that turn into years that turn into a lifetime.

How are we spending our time on Earth?
“Don’t let the fear of the time it will take to accomplish something stand in the way of your doing it. The time will pass anyway; we might just as well put that passing time to the best possible use.”

(Earl Nightingale)
While you’re reading this, I wonder if you get the same quasi-anxiety that I do about time and not accomplishing things that are extremely important for me to accomplish. Do you feel like you’re doing enough or that you are enough? Are you living up to your potential?
These are the questions that go through my head on a daily basis. I was lost in thought the other day and something came to my mind. 
“Are you living up to other people’s expectations of you?”
Now, before you start on me or yourself thinking that it shouldn’t matter what other people’s opinions are, take a look deeper into my question.
Maybe our loved ones see us with supreme potential. They have a different perspective on us than we can ever have on ourselves. They don’t know our neurotic tid bits of our inner mind workings. They would never speak to us the way we speak to ourselves when we are not feeling confident (and if they do, might I suggest that you get new friends).
Are you living your life to its full potential?
If your answer is no and if you’re thinking “when I get money, then I will be.” or “When I find the love of my life, then I will be.” or “When I get more fit, more beautiful…then I will be.”….then maybe it’s time to gently shift our thinking.
Use the time that was given to you to create who you are. Expect more from yourself and play a bigger game to become a more enriched person. Do that thing that you’ve been wanting to do that you have been putting off for too long. Go on that vacation. Volunteer at that food bank. Take that yoga class. Shave off your beard even in the prime of beard fashion. Call your estranged family member and have that heart to heart.
Use your time wisely. You’ll become a more heightened and aware person if you do. And who wouldn’t want that? 
All my best wishes and confidence in you,

Lindsay Maxwell.

Leave a Reply

